Intellectual inferiority of somalis

This myth really needs to die. Every moderately intelligent Somali male student who studied got top marks in my old school, beating all the Asians and Cadaans. I rarely studied, and even when I did, I studied the night before. Somalis are intellectually lazy, not retarded.

Somali parents fail in providing the environment and ambition for their kids to succeed academically. They never help with homework or after school activities or take an active interest in the kids lives.

I was very lucky to have parents who were both english-speaking professionals who took an interest in my studies and hobbies, but most Somali kids aren't so lucky. They have elderly qabiilist fathers in the Maqaaxi and welfare scamming mothers who could barely speak two words of English, despite living in the UK for years.

MadNomad

As i live and breathe
You're correct, we are not retarded. And a lot of the things you suggested like more dedicated parents would help a long way.

But not being retarded doesn't mean equal in ability to all other groups. I think there's a natural hierarchy in the world, it only makes sense when you observe the way things are. Where Somalis are placed within that hierarchy remains to be seen.

Gadiid

So much depends upon a red wheel barrow.
No lies detected. It's weird that some Somalis think there's some merit to this.

Macalin M

Out here
Agreed, I went to a tuition centre and me and many other Somali and Asian boys and girls done our Examinations a year before we were meant to. Many even did it years before they were meant to.

Gadiid

So much depends upon a red wheel barrow.
Are you surprised that some Somalis buy into it, when looking at the state we are in around the world?
I guess not when you put it like that.
Though I still think those who buy into it are being very pathetic, I can't say I sympathise with that thought process.