My first time in Mogadishu

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been a longtime lurker here but this is my first post here. I've decided that now that I'm 21 years old and still haven't been to dhulka hooyaday that I will travel to Xamar during the entire month of June. My family went to Hargeisa last summer but I was busy with other things then so I couldn't make it last summer. So I will be going down there alone and the thing is that 90% or more of my reer left the country for the West or neighboring countries so I basically don't have any close relatives or kinsmen in Mogadishu. My parents were born there but their families are originally from the area around Galkacyo.

I'm not a total noob when it comes to living in Africa as I've been working in rural clinics in south sudan for the last 4 months (I'm a medical student). As of now my plan is basically to buy a ticket to Mogadishu and either find some voluntary work in some local hospital/clinic or just meet with people and practice my half-qashin af-soomaali. The "problem" is that I don't have any close relatives that i can stay with and would prefer not to stay in a hotel. When I were in South Sudan I used to ask "random" people if i could give them 50 dollars and stay in their place for like 1 or 2 weeks. Do you guys think that I could ask somalis in Xamar if i could stay in their place for a time (and give like 200 dollars) and also teach their children in school subjects and english.

My mother were against the idea at first but I told her to trust me and she is okay with it now. Do you guys have any thoughts and ideas on my basic plan as of right now?

I don't usually talk about qabil, the thing is I'm marehan (Don't care about it and don't identify myself with clans) so they pretty much left Xamar back in the times
War ninkan la hadla .staying in random people's houses and ting . Yo Somalia ain't Thailand or South Sudan fellow . You can stay with farmaajo .

Reign

Pro Women's Rights|Centrist
VIP