A conversation with Christopher Ehret

Status
Not open for further replies.
He is one of my favourite Suugo Scientists.
What do you think of his theory about the Afro Asiatic Uhremeit being located in the Horn of Africa ?I have read a lot of opposing theories suggesting an ME origin which seem to make sense but I am no expert in linguistics .

Apollo

VIP
What do you think of his theory about the Afro Asiatic Uhremeit being located in the Horn of Africa ?I have read a lot of opposing theories suggesting an ME origin which seem to make sense but I am no expert in linguistics .

Totally wrong.

Genetic data all points to a more northerly area, probably between Egypt and possibly even Israel.

That ancient DNA from that Ethiopian caveman especially threw away the Horn of Africa theory. Modern Omotics have some West Asian lineages (J1 and K1a1a etc.). Afro-Asiatic seems MENA in origin and not SSA.

Thegoodshepherd

Galkacyo iyo Calula dhexdood
VIP
Totally wrong.

Genetic data all points to a more northerly area, probably between Egypt and possibly even Israel.

That ancient DNA from that Ethiopian caveman especially threw away the Horn of Africa theory. Modern Omotics have some West Asian lineages (J1 and K1a1a etc.). Afro-Asiatic seems MENA in origin and not SSA.

Do Omotics exhibit more Mota-like characteristics in their gene profiles than other Ethiopians? Also if Omotic is now solidly considered an AA language shouldn't the date for PAA be pushed back by several thousand years as it is so divergent from the rest?