Sufisim & Mawlid

I go to a Somali Sufi masjid that celebrates the mawlid, they claim it's bid'ah hassanah and it builds stronger love for the prophet SAW. There not full on sufis, they don't dance or anything just mawlid and a few other things. There very good people and they teach me a lot about islam, this is just one situation I have concern about.

I'm not knowledgeable on aqeedah and fiqh. I do read lots of quran and hadith and every time I have an odd question I follow the Shacfici ruling on the internet.
This has been good for me, but now I'm confused because I hear bad things about mawlid and I don't know what to think. I'm a layman muslim, I watch youtube sheikhs and now I want to actually start learning deeper about manhaj, aqeedah and fiqh. All my elders at the masjid would lead to semi-sufism what should I do?

How do someone of you who likely have this similar experiences, know who to follow and do you not feel ostracized by following something that your community doesn't? Let's have a discussion.

@techsamatar What is your deen stack? Sorry to use that term but like what do you follow? I'm assuming Shafici madhab, Salafi aqeedah & Sunni sect? Did you grow up as such, if not how did you separate? I'm at a weird point, I'm interested is Salafi but my masjid nor my family claims such.

I read this hadith and it inspired me to question by stack.

Narrated `Abdullah:
The Prophet (ﷺ) said, "The best people are those of my generation, and then those who will come after them (the next generation), and then those who will come after them (i.e. the next generation), and then after them, there will come people whose witness will precede their oaths, and whose oaths will precede their witness."

Yami

4th Emir of the Akh Right Movement