Nobel Prize in Chemistry

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was the second that Alfred Nobel mentioned in his will establishing the prizes. The first chemistry prize was awarded in 1901.
Jacques Dubochet, University of Lausanne, Switzerland, Joachim Frank, Columbia University, New York, and Richard Henderson, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, "for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution.

View an image biomolecules at the atomic level.

Cryo-electron microscopy produced this 3D image of the Zika virus.
Credit: molekuul_be/Shutterstock & livescience

Last edited:


Latest posts